Undergraduate Mathematics Archives

Date Speakers
Monday, April 11, 2016 - 15:30 to 16:30
Interviewing: Types, Strategies, and Dos and Don'ts
Mark Burdsall
Human Resources/Katz Business School, University of Pittsburgh
Thursday, February 11, 2016 - 14:00 to 14:50
Intuitive, Yet Rigorous Introduction to the Gaussian Curvature.
University of Pittsburgh
Thursday, February 4, 2016 - 14:00 to 14:50
Computer-Assisted Theorem Proving
Jacob Gross
University of Pittsburgh
Thursday, January 28, 2016 - 14:00 to 14:50
An Introduction to The Heisenberg Group
University of Pittsburgh
Thursday, January 21, 2016 - 14:00 to 14:50
Building Groups From Sets
University of Pittsburgh
Monday, December 7, 2015 - 15:00 to 15:50
The Birthday Problem Generalized
Derek Orr
University of Pittsburgh
Monday, November 16, 2015 - 15:00 to 15:50
The Fibonacci Sequence and Beyond
Torrey Gallagher
University of Pittsburgh
Monday, November 9, 2015 - 15:00 to 15:50
The abc Conjecture and a Fermat's Last Theorem for Polynomials
University of Pittsburgh
Monday, November 2, 2015 - 15:00 to 15:50
Mathematics Gives Us a Language
Behnam Esmayli
University of Pittsburgh
Monday, October 26, 2015 - 15:00 to 15:50
What Good is Mathematics?
University of Pittsburgh
Wednesday, April 29, 2015 - 11:00 to 12:00
BIG Problems Global Links Deliverable
Eric Bentley, Christian Bottenfield, Namita Matharu, Sylvia Ujwary
University of Pittsburgh
Thursday, April 23, 2015 - 14:00 to 15:00
BIG Problems "FedUPS" Deliverable
Dan King and Zachary Stuck
University of Pittsburgh
Wednesday, April 15, 2015 - 15:30 to 16:30
Special Numbers Through Palindromic Weights of Strings
Jonathan P Kelly
University of Pittsburgh
Wednesday, April 15, 2015 - 15:30 to 16:30
Special Numbers Through Palindromic Weights of Strings
Jonathan P Kelly
University of Pittsburgh
Tuesday, April 14, 2015 - 14:30 to 15:30
A Simple Proof of Nowhere-Differentiability for Weierstrass Functions
Lucille Newman
Pittsburgh Obama High School
Friday, April 10, 2015 - 15:30 to 16:30
Interviewing Seminar
Mark Burdsall
University of Pittsburgh
Friday, April 10, 2015 - 15:30 to 16:30
Interviewing Seminar
Mark Burdsall
University of Pittsburgh
Wednesday, April 8, 2015 - 16:30 to 17:30
Some Baseball Analytics
Dan Fox
Pittsburgh Pirates (MLB)
Wednesday, April 1, 2015 - 16:30 to 17:30
The Mathematics of Scheduling Major League Baseball
Michael Trick
Tepper School of Business, Carnegie Mellon University
Wednesday, March 25, 2015 - 15:30 to 16:30
Which Doctors? and other Adventures with Healthcare Data
Andy Walsh, PhD
Health Monitoring Systems (a Pitt start-up)
Wednesday, March 18, 2015 - 15:30 to 16:30
An Improved Bound for Nontrivial Cycle Lengths in the 3n+1 Problem
Ian Martiny
University of Pittsburgh
Wednesday, March 4, 2015 - 15:30 to 16:30
The Strange World of Generalized Functions II
University of Pittsburgh
Tuesday, February 17, 2015 - 14:30 to 15:30
Building Sensors and Designing Algorithms for Computational Photography
Suren Jayasuriya (Pitt Math '12)
Cornell University
Wednesday, February 11, 2015 - 15:30 to 16:30
NSA Informative Talk and Recruiting
Joseph Massimini
National Security Agency
Wednesday, February 4, 2015 - 15:30 to 16:30
Wind, Water, and Mathematics
This talk will show how kayaking the Colorado river in the Grand Canyon led me to the proof of the 1877 conjecture of Boussinesq, long believed false, on the mathematics of turbulence. I will even give the proof for a simplified version of the equations of fluid motion.
University of Pittsburgh
Wednesday, February 4, 2015 - 15:30 to 16:30
Wind, Water, and Mathematics
University of Pittsburgh
Wednesday, January 28, 2015 - 15:30 to 16:30
Generating Functions
University of Pittsburgh
Wednesday, January 21, 2015 - 15:30 to 16:30
Modeling Extinction Events with a Galton-Watson Process
University of Pittsburgh
Tuesday, November 25, 2014 - 14:30 to 15:30
No Seminar due to Thanksgiving Break
(No Seminar - Thanksgiving)
Tuesday, November 18, 2014 - 14:30 to 15:30
Trancedental Numbers
Nathan Warkentin
University of Pittsburgh
Tuesday, November 11, 2014 - 14:30 to 15:30
The Strange World of Generalized Functions
University of Pittsburgh
Tuesday, November 4, 2014 - 14:30 to 15:30
The Birthday Problem (or How to Make Money at Parties)
University of Pittsburgh
Tuesday, October 28, 2014 - 14:30 to 15:30
Your Days are Numbered: Dynamics of Zombies & Vampires
University of Pittsburgh
Tuesday, October 21, 2014 - 14:30 to 15:30
Divergent Series
University of Pittsburgh
Tuesday, October 14, 2014 - 14:30 to 15:30
No Seminar due to Fall Break
(No Seminar -Fall Break)
Tuesday, October 7, 2014 - 14:30 to 15:30
The 3n+ 1 Problem
University of Pittsburgh
Tuesday, October 7, 2014 - 14:30 to 15:30
The 3n+ 1 Problem
University of Pittsburgh
Tuesday, September 30, 2014 - 14:30 to 15:30
The Frobenius Coin Problem
Derek Orr
University of Pittsburgh