By the Numb3rs Fall 2014


Joseph Fiordilino wins a SMART ScholarshipJoseph Fiordelino

The Science, Mathematics And Research for Transformation (SMART) Scholarship for Service Program has been established by the Department of Defense (DoD) to support undergraduate and graduate students pursuing degrees in Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM) disciplines. The program aims to increase the number of civilian scientists and engineers working at DoD laboratories.  Student that receive this scholarship will receive a full scholarship and be gainfully employed by the DoD upon degree completion. Only 151 scholarships were awarded in 2014, only 5% in Mathematics. Please join us on congratulating Joseph on his impressive acheivement.

Recent Graduates

2014Ana MamatelashviliPostdoctoral Fellowship, Auburn UniversityTukey Order on Sets of Compact Subjects of Topological Spaces
2014Woden Kusner
FWF Postdoctoral Fellowship, Graz University of Technology
Bounds on Packing Density via Slicing
2014Jeromy SivekAssistant Professor, Temple UniversityDifferentiability, Summability and Fixed Points in Banach Spaces
2014Aziz TakhirovVisiting Assistant Professor, Texas A&M UniversityNumerical Analysis of the Flows in the Pebble Bed Geometries
2014Michaela KubackiAssistant Professor, Middlebury CollegeHigher-order, Strongly Stable Methods for Uncoupling Ground Water-surface Water Flow
2014Jared BurnsAssistant Professor, Seton Hill UniversityContinuity in Banach Spaces
2014Krzysztof KapulkinPostdoctoral Fellowship, University of Western OntarioJoyals Conjecture in Homotopy Type Theory
2014Ken-Hsien ChuangPostdoctoral Fellowship, National Cheng Kung UniversityCanonical Connections
2014Mark TronzoPart-time Faculty, Geneva College & University of PittsburghAnalysis of a PDE Model for Necrotizing Enterocolitis
2014Attou Miloua Steady State Thin Film Equation with Van der Waals Force
2014Xin XiongAnalyst Customer Insights and Analytics, Walmart CorporationNumerical Analysis

Graduate Student Awards

Torrey Gallageher - Universitiy of Pittsburgh Teaching Excellence Award
Pamela Delgado - K. Leroy Irvis Fellowship
Jing Liu - Whittington Fellowship
Cheng Yu - Thomas C. Hales Distinguished Research Award
Shelby Stanhope - SIAM Conference on the Life Sciences, Poster Prize
Jared Burns - Universitiy of Pittsburgh Teaching Excellence Award